Dear AFPGV Member:

Each year our chapter participates in the AFP's BE the CAUSE, an annual fundraising campaign that raises dollars that contribute to the value that AFP delivers to its chapters and its members.

Each and every day, the important work you do makes an impact on philanthropy around the world. Together, we can empower fundraisers, strengthen communities, and transform the way donors give.

Please join us today and make your gift.

Your investment in the AFP Foundation for Philanthropy will help support local, national, and international programs, including:

  • Diversity & Inclusion through the planning phase of the North American expansion of New Faces of Fundraising – a multi-year initiative that began in 2016.
  • Professional Development through professional development grants (formerly scholarships) provide fundraisers and nonprofit leaders with education, training, and leadership development opportunities.
  • Research that increases knowledge of fundraising, philanthropy, and social innovation includes the Growth in Giving Initiative

How Your Gift Made a Difference
Last year, our chapter used gifts raised through the cooperative annual fund for discounts to programs for our members.

Nationally, your gift helped provide…

  • $119,108 in support back to 115 local chapters
  • Professional Development Grants (formerly scholarships)
    $117,445 in awards for the AFP International Fundraising Conference
    - 131 Chamberlain Scholars (first-time conference attendees)
    - 19 Diverse Communities Scholars
    - 11 Collegiate Scholars

    $8,000 in awards for AFP Leadership Academy
    - 8 Leadership Scholars
  • Program and research support
    Inaugural AFP Collegiate Leadership Conference
    - 38 collegiate members and advisors
    Curriculum revision of AFP CFRE review course
    Annual Compensation and Benefits Survey

Donating is quick and easy! Click here for a printable donation form or to donate online.

Become and Alpha Society Member today and your donation will have even more impact! Join the Alpha Society with a contribution beginning at just $10 per month. You can even set-up automatic monthly payments deducted directly from your debit or credit card to make it easier than ever to support BE the CAUSE! Click here for an Alpha Society pledge form.

As an AFP member, you are a leader in demonstrating your commitment to professional education, leadership development, and ethical and effective fundraising practice. When you make a gift to the BE the CAUSE Campaign, you are investing in the future of the fundraising profession and the advancement of philanthropy. You really do make a difference!

Thank you again for all of your help, 
Danielle Abramson Swartz, AFPGV 2018 BE the CAUSE Chair

Thank you to our 2017 BE the CAUSE Donors!

President's Club ($1,000 - $1,999) Blue Ribbon Donor ($1 - $49)
Mark Peterson, CFRE * Lauren Bevacqua
Steven Smith, CFRE * Whitney Brice
  Julie Burke
Silver Ribbon Donor ($100 - $249) Leslie Chambers
Melanie Barnas-Simmons * Megan DeFranco
Colleen Brade * Lauren Dru Frank
Jillian Carter * Laura Garrison
Michael Crisona * Melinda Goldberg
Becky Herman, CFRE Cynthia Gray
Jeffrey Hough * Susan Gurak
Terra Keller * Karen Higman
Tracy Kroft * Mia Hodgins
Jared Longmore * Denise Hubler, CFRE
Emily Marullo, CFRE * Carolyn Hunt, CFRE
Dan Meyers Chuck Levengood
Cynthia Pacia * Karly Marshall
Marlisa Post * Robyn Miller
Sarah Goldstein Post, CFRE * Meghan Mueller
Gerianne Puskas * Julie Murawski
Tracy Schleyer, CFRE * Vicky Pape
Bradley Schreiber * Jamie Rada, CFRE
Krystyna Staub * Rich Redding
Danielle Abramson Swartz * Karen Saludo
Brenda Thornton Karen Shaw
Marianne Virgilio, CFRE * Marc Smith
John Williams * Kayleigh Stampfler, CFRE
Gretchen Wood, CFRE * Dawn Stever, CFRE
  Susan Sullivan
Bronze Ribbon Donor ($50 - $99) Alyssa Whitfield
Katharine Bassney Brian Wirth
Carolyn Bick Michele Wistner
Kristin Cook Leslie Zornow
Carol DeMoulin  
Kristin Eklin  
Karen Humbert  
Anne McKenna, CFRE  
Carol O'Neal  
Mark Pastorella  
Debra Salmon  
Diane Shoger  
Pamela White  

And a BIG THANK YOU to our 2017 ROC the Day and Scholarship Donors:

ROC the Day Donors:
Ned Davis & Anne Kress
Taylor Freitas
Anne McKenna, CFRE
Michael E. & Mary Lou Pollock
Brenda Thornton
John Williams

Meyers Scholarship Donors:
Fred L. Emerson Foundation
Dan Meyers

Gaffney Scholarship Donors:
Melanie Barnas-Simmons
Kristin Cook
Julie Murawski
Wayne Olson
Cassandra George Ramos
Jeff Wilklow


 * Alpha Society donors give to the AFP Foundation by establishing a fixed monthly gift that is transferred directly from a checking account or credit card. Click here for more information about the Alpha Society.